Technical Committee

The Technical Committee meets four times per year to discuss issues and problems which have come to light within the maritime industry.

It is directed under the chairmanship of Captain Ian Giddings. A Professional Development Consultant – Captain Geoff Cowap – is retained by the Honourable Company and has responsibility for the co-ordination of the technical and professional activities of the Honourable Company and is normally the first point of contact for such issues, as well acting as Joint Informal Meeting Co-ordinator. The secretary to the committee, Mrs Alison Harris, as well as minuting each meeting, collects and distributes papers and looks after the technical section of the library.  In addition to the seven work groups, the Technical Committee is also made up of a number of appointees to various external committees. These are listed below:

Captain Ian Giddings (Chairman)

Captain Phil Pannett

Captain Geoff Cowap

Captain John Wright

Mr Andrew Bell

Captain Colin Shoolbraid

Captain Sam Judah

Captain John Hughes

Captain Michael Lloyd

Captain Don Cockrill

Captain Stephen Bland

Captain Jim Chapman

Dr Steve Bonsall

Captain Flavian D’Souza

Captain Dr Peter Widd (Nautical Assessor)

Captain John Simpson (Nautical Assessor)

Captain Peter McArthur

Captain Simon Richardson

Captain Neale Rodrigues

Professor John Carlton

For further information please contact the Secretary: